Skip to content

Navigation breadcrumbs

  1. Home
  2. News
Opinion19th September 2016

Understanding the new GCSE measures – Attainment 8 and Progress 8

Daisy Christodoulou, Head of Assessment at Ark, explains the new GCSE accountability measures and what they mean for schools.

As of summer 2016, schools in England are being judged by four new accountability measures.

  1. Percentage achieving A* – C in the five English Baccalaureate subject areas
  2. Percentage achieving A* – C in both English and mathematics
  3. Attainment 8: average attainment by each pupil in their best eight subjects
  4. Progress 8: progress made by each pupil in the same eight subjects.

The first two measures are similar to those used previously and are fairly straightforward to understand. But Attainment 8 and Progress 8 are significantly different and more complex.

I’ve put together this short film to explain these measures in detail. Watch on to find out more.